The Asian Excellence Awards is an annual celebration of the outstanding achievements of Asians and Asian Americans in film, television, music, and the performing arts. This year’s show, hosted by Carrie Ann Inaba and Bobby Lee, will reach a broad national televised audience with the premiere on E! Entertainment on May 1 at 6 p.m. ET/PT. The show will also be available on Comcast On Demand throughout the month of May in honor of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month.

The Asian Excellence Awards is the only nationally televised event celebrating significant Asian and Asian American achievements in entertainment, the arts and other disciplines that have had a profound impact on American culture. The show will be taped live on April 23 at UCLA’s Royce Hall. Welly, the creator and one of the executive producers of the Asian Excellence Awards, is an actor, singer, producer and founder of the Asian theatrical group Second Generation, which produced the earlier version of the “Asian Excellence Awards” known as “The Concert of Excellence.”

Past honorees and presenters have included Chow Yun-Fat, Lucy Liu, Quentin Tarantino, Daniel Dae Kim, Masi Oka, Rex Lee, Margaret Cho, Rob Schneider, Kelly Hu, Parminder Nagra, Yunjin Kim, Lisa Ling, Bobby Lee, Carrie Ann Inaba, Grace Park, Maggie Q, Vivica A. Fox, Jason Scott Lee, Sharon Leal, B.D. Wong and many more.


The 2006 Asian Excellence Awards® featured the Remy Martin® X.O. Honors, which included an award to AIDS researcher Dr. David Ho for the Inspiration Honor and to writer/director Quentin Tarantino for the Bridge Honor. A list of celebrities that were seen at the star-studded event included Lucy Liu, Quentin Tarantino, and Earvin “Magic” Johnson. Live performances during the show included Fort Minor, featuring Mike Shinoda of Linkin Park, the original cast of the Broadway musical “Lennon” and Cirque du Soleil show “Ka.” Kelly Hu and Bobby Lee were hosts of the show.

The 2007 Asian Excellence Awards® was presented by JCPenney, and was hosted by Lost star Daniel Dae Kim and the beautiful Grace Park. The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Chow Yun Fat, one of the most instantly recognizable faces in Asia. Other celebrities that could be seen on the red carpet included Sanjaya Malakar, Carrie Ann Inaba, and Kal Penn. Live comedy performances included Russell Peters, Margaret Cho and Dat Phan. The 2006 show was the first to feature a viewer’s choice award, and the winner was Survivor winner Yul Kwon.

Both the 2006 and 2007 Asian Excellence Awards® aired on AZN Television.

For more information about the event, please contact info@axawards.com

Welly Yang
Creator/Executive Producer

Teddy Zee
Executive Producer

Hugh Wright
Executive Producer

Gregory Sills
Supervising Producer

Grace C. Lee
Director, Asian Excellence Awards Committee
Teresa Wiedel, AZN Television
(303) 712-5457
For more information or assistance, please contact Director of the Asian Excellence Awards Committee, Grace C. Lee, at info@axawards.com