The Asian Excellence Awards is the most prestigious and only nationally televised event celebrating the achievements of the Asian and Asian American community in film, television, and music. Discretionary awards are also given to remarkable individuals outside of these disciplines who have made a deep and historic impact on our national culture. It is these artists and leaders who dare to dream, encourage us to keep dreaming, and show us all who we can one day become. They raise us all to a new level of excellence that defies all boundaries.


Founded in 2001, the Asian Excellence Awards began in New York, where the nonprofit theater company Second Generation produced an annual benefit called the "Concert of Excellence.". With performances by Broadway performers, the show sold out Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center from 2001-2004, and quickly became a highlight of the Asian American and New York cultural scene. Television talk show host Tony Danza called the event "something all Americans should see," and Tony Award-winning playwright David Henry Hwang called it the "most professional, most fun, and most prestigious event of its kind in the Asian and Asian American community."

In 2005-2006, with the support of Comcast's AZN Television, the event moved to Hollywood and evolved into the Asian Excellence Awards. The 2006 Awards was broadcast from the Wiltern Theater in Los Angeles in January of 2006. The 2007 AZN Asian Excellence Awards will premiere on AZN Television on May 28, 8 p.m. ET/PT. The network has partnered with E! Entertainment Television to further promote the show with an hour-long special featuring celebrity arrivals, behind-the-scenes peek and highlights from the event. The special will air on E! on May 24 at 6:00 p.m. ET/PT, making the Asian Excellence Awards the most broadly televised Asian American program in history.

For more information about the event, please contact or to download the one sheet click here.

Welly Yang
Creator/Executive Producer

Teddy Zee
Executive Producer

Hugh Wright
Executive Producer

Gregory Sills
Supervising Producer

Grace C. Lee
Director, Asian Excellence Awards Committee
Teresa Wiedel, AZN Television
(303) 712-5457
For more information or assistance, please contact Director of the Asian Excellence Awards Committee, Grace C. Lee, at